Millions of travelers ask the same question every year: Do I need a visa?

Get answers from Visa Requirement. Read our blog and news updates.

Visa-on-arrival extended to four more international airports in India

August 22, 2013 by Wan Wan - Category News

Hurray! Apart from celebrating the 66th Independence Day, 15th August 2013 also made a spot in the Indian history where the Visa-on-Arrival (VoA) scheme is implemented at four additional airports in Hyperabad, Thiruvananthapuram, Kochi and Bangalore.

The VoA was first introduced on 1st Jan 2010 at four major international Indian airports (New Delhi, Kolkata, Mumbai and Chennai) for citizens of merely five countries. Currently, the VoA is extended to citizens of eleven countries - Cambodia, Finland, Indonesia, Japan, Laos, Luxembourg, Myanmar, New Zealand, Philippines, Singapore and Vietnam. Soon, the facility will be extended to tourists from ten more countries including France, Germany and Russia.

The India tourist VoA has a maximum validity of 30 days with single entry facility. According to the Foreign Regional Registration Officers, the applicants’ passports should be valid for at least six months and has two spare pages. A return ticket is also compulsory to enjoy this facility. The VoA is obtainable at a reasonable fee of USD60 (equivalent Indian currency).

The manager of Hyperabad Airport (also known as Rajiv Gandhi International Airport), GMR Group is hopeful in bringing up the figures in the tourism statistics in years to come. This runs parallel to the India Ministry of Tourism’s aspiration to bring in 12 million international tourists by 2016. For that reason, the decision (which was made at the third inter-ministerial coordination committee meeting) to have VoA implementation is more than clear-cut.

If you are still in the dark whether you need a visa to travel to India, you can always refer to our India visa requirement page.